The Complete List of the 2016 Nebula Award Nominees 


The Nebula Awards, which recognize excellence in science fiction and fantasy published in the United States, have released their 2016 nominees. Unlike the Hugo awards, which are frequently accompanied by scandal from the right-wing group the Sad Puppies, the Nebulas are selected by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America — and it shows. Instead of Chuck Tingle, the list is populated by a diverse array of popular authors, including several authors of color and LGBTQ writers. Among this year’s nominations are Charlie Jane Anders for All the Birds in the Sky and N.K. Jemisin for The Obelisk Gate. Both Westworld and Rogue One also earned nods in the dramatic presentation category.

Here are the nominees in the category of best novel, best novella, and the Bradbury category for dramatic presentation. This will be the annual ceremony’s 51st year.

Best novel

Borderline by Mishell Baker

The Obelisk Gate by N. K. Jemisin

Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee

Everfair by Nisi Shawl

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

Best novella

Runtime by S.B. Divya

The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe by Kij Johnson

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

The Liar by John P. Murphy

A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire


Arrival — Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer

Doctor Strange — Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill

Kubo and the Two Strings — Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler

Zootopia — Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush; Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story — Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy

Westworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind’’ — Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan

Anthony Hopkins, Evan Rachel Wood, and James Marsden in 'Westworld' 


The complete list also includes novelettes and short stories as well as the Norton category for YA. The awards themselves will be presented during the annual Nebula Conference, which will be May 18 to May 21, 2017.

Related Tags