Inverse Codex

Everything to know about Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Wrath of the Druids

Eivor explores Ireland.

Originally Published: 
Assassin's Creed Valhalla Wrath of the Druids screenshot

A major Assassin’s Creed Valhalla DLC is coming, and it brings Eivor to Ireland to face a druidic cult. There’s quite a bit that longtime Viking explorers may not know about the upcoming DLC, especially if they’ve fallen off from playing the game since its original November 2020 release.

Below, we outline all there is to know about the expansion including its release details, pricing, key features, plot info, and more.

When is the Wrath of the Druids release date?

Wrath of the Druids goes live May 13, 2021 on all platforms. It is included alongside the $39.99 Season Pass or can be purchased separately for $24.99.

The release times for the expansion in the U.S> are as follows.

  • PC (EGS and Ubisoft Connect): May 12 at 8:01 p.m. Eastern (Season Pass)/May 13 at 5 a.m. Eastern (Standalone Ubi) or 11 a.m. Eastern (Standalone EGS)
  • Xbox/PlayStation: May 13 at 12:01 a.m. local time
  • Stadia: May 12 at 8:01 p.m. Eastern

Is there a Wrath of the Druids trailer?

Ubisoft released a Wrath of the Druids launch trailer on May 11. It features a detailed look at the game’s lush Ireland landscape and an introduction to the malevolent Druid force taking over the area.

What’s included in Wrath of the Druids?

Here’s a quick rundown at some of the key items that’ll be added to Assassin’s Creed Valhalla as part of the DLC:

  • Ireland: The biggest feature of Wrath of the Druids is that it adds a massive Ireland map to the game. Leaks from Valhalla’s Photo Mote site suggest the map is split into Meath, Connacht, Ulster and Dublin. The expansion also features famous historical landmarks such as the Giant’s Causeway, Tara Hill, Black Pig’s Dyke, Ben Bulben, and more.
  • New activities: Trophy leaks suggest players will be able to collect amber shards and complete Royal Demands while working their way through a large-scale campaign.
  • Trade: Claim and conquer the Ring Forts of Ireland, form alliances to dominate the trade routes to build Dublin’s wealth and establish it as the primary seat of commerce. You can also trade with outside territories too.
  • Trail of the Morrigan: In Celtic lore, Morrigan is the goddess of death and destiny. She offered favor to warriors and gods alike. In Wrath of the Druids, these are special encounters with high-level foes in cursed areas. Given how much the base game emphasizes skill in combat, it makes sense Valhalla’s DLC would take that notion one step further.
  • Weapons and Armor: Dual-wielded sickles will be a major feature of this expansion, and players will be able to find a fully complete Dublin Champion armor set by making their way around the map. There will be lots of gear and other customization items as well.

What’s the Wrath of the Druids story?

Officially, Ubisoft has described Wrath of the Druids as follows:

“In this new adventure, players will journey to Ireland and unravel the mysteries of an ancient and mysterious druidic cult, tracking and discovering their members. Diving into Gaelic myths and folklore, they’ll need to fight their way through haunted forests and dazzling landscapes while gaining influence among Gaelic kings. The story starts as Eivor is summoned to Ireland by their long-lost cousin Barid. Quickly they are drafted by the High–King of Ireland Flann Sinna to embark on a perilous journey and unite the warring factions.”

True to franchise form, Wrath of the Druids also features supernatural elements too. Chief among those is a Druidic Cult called the Children of Danu. Screenshots suggest these foes offer many new ways to attack Eivor and might even be linked to werewolves. Along the way, the story will also touch on some of the lore behind St. Patrick as well.

How to play Wrath of the Druids

There is no specific level requirement to play Wrath of the Druids at launch, and you don’t even have to beat the main campaign to see what the cDLC is all about. Simply make sure you have finished one of the two English settlements at Grantebridgescire or Ledecestrescire first. Those two kingdoms are technically accessible as soon as Eivor leaves Norway at the start of the game.

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Wrath of the Druids will be released on May 13, 2021.

This article was originally published on

Related Tags