What’s the old saying? If it sounds too good to be true, it’s probably selling your data to advertisers.

The online service Unroll.me, which bills itself as a godsend program that will deliver you from all the spam subscription emails you no longer want, has recently been found to engage in the selling of user data to the highest bidder. And users are not too happy about it.

Unsurprisingly, Unroll.me subscribers are looking to opt out of the service.

It works by requesting access to your email services, be they through Google’s Gmail or Microsoft’s Outlook, or some other third party provider. Once it has access, it searches your data to find any subscription-style emails and allows you to choose those from which you’d like to unsubscribe.

But once Unroll.me is in your email, it’s in. And it has access to all kinds of data that you may not want to give it. So here’s how you can delete your account if you’re already subscribed.

How to Delete Unroll.me From Gmail:

After logging into the website in a web browser (it’s a similar process for the iOS app as well), open your account settings from the drop down menu under your username. There should be an option right there to delete your account. The website will then ask you to provide a reason for leaving. It’s probably something along the lines of, “I value my privacy and you betrayed me,” but admittedly there is no box to click on for that option.

Click to delete your account one more time, and that’ll be the end of it.

If you’ve signed in via Google, you can make sure the app no longer has access by going here.

Then it’s back to the old, manual method of deleting and unsubscribing from annoying emails. But at least this way Unroll.me won’t sell your Lyft receipts to Uber.

Photos via unroll.me, Getty Images / Michael Bocchieri, Flickr / abraham.williams