Elon Musk's SpaceX Announces the 125 Teams for Hyperloop Design Competition 

It's gonna be a doozy. 

by Sam Blum

Back in November, SpaceX revealed it received 125 submissions for its design competition for the Hyperloop — Elon Musk’s pneumatic tube train that will shuttle humans at 700 mph.

Today, SpaceX revealed the official number of students involved in the competition and more than 1,000 students from all over the world are primed to unveil their Hyperloop pod prototypes at the contest’s first stage, held at Texas A&M University January 29-30, 2016.

The teams comprise a very international group of aspiring innovators from 20 different countries and 100 universities.

While their designs should vary markedly, some of the groups are experimenting with technology that’s quite similar to how hoverboards work.

Hyperloop was born from Elon Musk’s idea of a rapid transit system based on air pressure and conduction, meant to shuttle passengers from Los Angeles to San Francisco in 30 minutes. It’s supposed to be a lot cheaper than the eventual high-speed bullet train bound to navigate California, although some engineers have questioned Hyperloop’s viability.

In a reasonably hypothetical future, Hyperloop could look like something this, if viewed in Kansas, maybe:

Although his aerospace company is sponsoring the student design contest, Musk is very much removed from the process, offering pretty much only the Hyperloop’s origin story.

Meanwhile, the first ever Hyperloop tests are set to take place in North Las Vegas early next year.

The January passenger pod competition at Texas A&M is the first leg in a multi-step process, and various judges representing Elon Musk’s flagship companies — Tesla and SpaceX — will determine which teams make the next round, where they’ll test their pods on a test track outside SpaceX’s Los Angeles headquarters next summer.

The teams, according to Texas A&M, are as follows:

Air Force Academy + University of Colorado at Colorado Springs

Andrews University

Arizona State University

Auburn University

Baylor University

Binghamton University

Birla Institute Of Technology and Science (India)

Bucknell University

Cairo University Engineering (Egypt)

California Polytechnic State University

California Polytechnic State University, Pomona

California State University

Carleton College

Carnegie Mellon University

Clemson University

Colorado School of Mines

Cornell University + Harvey Mudd College + University of Michigan + Northeastern University + Memorial University of Newfoundland (Canada) + Princeton University

Delft University of Technology (Netherlands)

Diablo Valley College

Drexel University

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Florida Institute of Technology

Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering

Georgia Institute of Technology

Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Imperial College London (UK)

Iowa State University

Istanbul Technical University (Turkey)

JSS Academy of Technical Academy (India)

Keio University (Japan)

KLS Gogte Institute of Technology (India)

Lahore University of Management Sciences (Pakistan)

Lehigh University

Lodz University of Technology (Poland)

Louisiana State University

Malaviya National Institute Of Technology (India)

McGill University (Canada)

McMaster University (Canada)

Missouri University of Science & Technology

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

National University of Singapore (Singapore)

New York University

New York University Shanghai (China)

Nitte Meenakshi Institute of Technology Bangalore (India)

Ohio State University

Oral Roberts University

Politehnica University of Bucharest (Romania)

Purdue University

Queens University (Canada)

RMIT University (Australia)

Robert Morris University

Rochester Institute of Technology

Rutgers University

RVR & JC College of Engineering (India)

Ryerson University (Canada)

San Jose State University

Shiv Nadar University (India)

SRM University (India)

St. Olaf College + Carleton College

Stanford University

State University of New York at Binghamton

Stony Brook University + University of Virginia (UVA)

Technische Universität München (Germany)

Texas A&M University

Texas Tech

The Pennsylvania State University

Turin Polytechnic University in Tashkent (Uzbekistan)

University of California Los Angeles

University of California San Diego

University of California Davis

University of California Irvine

University of Central Florida

Universidad Anáhuac (Mexico)

Universidad de Alcalá/Gaia (Spain)

Universidad Panamericana (Mexico)

Universität Oldenburg/HS Emden-Leer (Germany)

Universitat Politècnica de Valencia (Spain)

University of Alabama

University of Arizona

University of California Berkeley

University of California Merced

University of California Santa Barbara

University of Cincinnati

University of Colorado Denver

University of Edinburgh (Scotland)

University of Florida

University of Hawaii

University of Illinois

University of Maryland + Rutgers

University of Minnesota

University of North Texas

University of Pennsylvania

University of Pisa (Italy)

University of Pretoria (South Africa)

Tuks Squadra

University of Toledo

University of Toronto (Canada)

University of Washington

University of Waterloo (Canada)

University of Wisconsin


University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

University of Southern California

University of Texas Austin


University of Texas Dallas

Virginia Tech

Wichita State University

High Schools

El Segundo High School (El Segundo, California)

St. Johns School High School (Houston, Texas)

Conant High School (Hoffman Estates, Illinois)

Related Tags