2018 Hugo Nominations: 'Good Place' and 'Get Out' Dominate

The competition is out of this world.

World Science Fiction Convention

Finalists for the 2018 Hugo Awards were announced on Friday. The biggest award in science fiction and fantasy this year has nominated NBC comedy The Good Place and Jordan Peele’s Get Out for top honors.

The Hugo Awards announced that The Good Place has two episodes nominated for Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form category along with episodes from Black Mirror, Doctor Who, and Star Trek: Discovery. Peele received a nomination for Get Out, which will have to contend with some heavy hitters including The Shape of Water, Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Thor: Ragnorak, Wonder Woman, and Blade Runner 2049.

N.K. Jemisin returns to the Hugo Awards in hopes to win the Best Novel category for a third time in a row with her book The Stone Sky. She’ll compete against John Scalzi (The Collapsing Empire), Kim Stanley Robinson (New York 2140), Ann Leckie (Provenance), Yoon Ha Lee (Raven Stratagem), and Mur Lafferty (Six Wakes).

Here’s a full list of nominations:

Best Novel

The Collapsing Empire, by John Scalzi (Tor)

New York 2140, by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

Provenance, by Ann Leckie (Orbit)

Raven Stratagem, by Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)

Six Wakes, by Mur Lafferty (Orbit)

The Stone Sky, by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Novella

All Systems Red, by Martha Wells (Tor.com Publishing)

And Then There Were (N-One), by Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny, March/April 2017)

Binti: Home, by Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com Publishing)

The Black Tides of Heaven, by JY Yang (Tor.com Publishing)

Down Among the Sticks and Bones, by Seanan McGuire (Tor.Com Publishing)

River of Teeth, by Sarah Gailey (Tor.com Publishing)

Best Novelette

Children of Thorns, Children of Water, by Aliette de Bodard (Uncanny, July-August 2017)

Extracurricular Activities, by Yoon Ha Lee (Tor.com, February 15, 2017)

The Secret Life of Bots, by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, September 2017)

A Series of Steaks, by Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Clarkesworld, January 2017)

Small Changes Over Long Periods of Time, by K.M. Szpara (Uncanny, May/June 2017)

Wind Will Rove, by Sarah Pinsker (Asimov’s, September/October 2017)

Best Short Story

“Carnival Nine,” by Caroline M. Yoachim (Beneath Ceaseless Skies, May 2017)

“Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand,” by Fran Wilde (Uncanny, September 2017)

“Fandom for Robots,” by Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Uncanny, September/October 2017)

“The Martian Obelisk,” by Linda Nagata (Tor.com, July 19, 2017)

“Sun, Moon, Dust” by Ursula Vernon, (Uncanny, May/June 2017)

“Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experience™,” by Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex, August 2017)

Best Series

The Books of the Raksura, by Martha Wells (Night Shade)

The Divine Cities, by Robert Jackson Bennett (Broadway)

InCryptid, by Seanan McGuire (DAW)

The Memoirs of Lady Trent, by Marie Brennan (Tor US / Titan UK)

The Stormlight Archive, by Brandon Sanderson (Tor US / Gollancz UK)

World of the Five Gods, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Harper Voyager / Spectrum Literary Agency)

Best Related Work

Crash Override: How Gamergate (Nearly) Destroyed My Life, and How We Can Win the Fight Against Online Hate, by Zoe Quinn (PublicAffairs)

Iain M. Banks (Modern Masters of Science Fiction), by Paul Kincaid (University of Illinois Press)

A Lit Fuse: The Provocative Life of Harlan Ellison, by Nat Segaloff (NESFA Press)

Luminescent Threads: Connections to Octavia E. Butler, edited by Alexandra Pierce and Mimi Mondal (Twelfth Planet Press)

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters, by Ursula K. Le Guin (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Sleeping with Monsters: Readings and Reactions in Science Fiction and Fantasy, by Liz Bourke (Aqueduct Press)

Best Graphic Story

Bitch Planet, Volume 2: President Bitch, written by Kelly Sue DeConnick, illustrated by Valentine De

Black Bolt, Volume 1: Hard Time, written by Saladin Ahmed, illustrated by Christian Ward, lettered by Clayton Cowles (Marvel)

Landro and Taki Soma, colored by Kelly Fitzpatrick, lettered by Clayton Cowles (Image Comics)

Monstress, Volume 2: The Blood, written by Marjorie M. Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)

My Favorite Thing is Monsters, written and illustrated by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)

Paper Girls, Volume 3, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Cliff Chiang, colored by Matthew Wilson, lettered by Jared Fletcher (Image Comics)

Saga, Volume 7, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Blade Runner 2049, written by Hampton Fancher and Michael Green, directed by Denis Villeneuve (Alcon Entertainment / Bud Yorkin Productions / Torridon Films / Columbia Pictures)

Get Out, written and directed by Jordan Peele (Blumhouse Productions / Monkeypaw Productions / QC Entertainment)

The Shape of Water, written by Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor, directed by Guillermo del Toro (TSG Entertainment / Double Dare You / Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, written and directed by Rian Johnson (Lucasfilm, Ltd.)

Thor: Ragnarok, written by Eric Pearson, Craig Kyle, and Christopher Yost; directed by Taika Waititi (Marvel Studios)

Wonder Woman, screenplay by Allan Heinberg, story by Zack Snyder & Allan Heinberg and Jason Fuchs, directed by Patty Jenkins (DC Films / Warner Brothers)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Black Mirror: “USS Callister,” written by William Bridges and Charlie Brooker, directed by Toby Haynes (House of Tomorrow)

“The Deep” [song], by Clipping (Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes)

Doctor Who: “Twice Upon a Time,” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Rachel Talalay (BBC Cymru Wales)

The Good Place: “Michael’s Gambit,” written and directed by Michael Schur (Fremulon / 3 Arts Entertainment / Universal Television)

The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem,” written by Josh Siegal and Dylan Morgan, directed by Dean Holland (Fremulon / 3 Arts Entertainment / Universal Television)

Star Trek: Discovery: “Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad,” written by Aron Eli Coleite & Jesse Alexander, directed by David M. Barrett (CBS Television Studios)

The Hugo Awards will take place during Worldcon 76 in San Jose on August 19. First awarded in 1953, the Hugos are named after Hugo Gernsback who published the first magazine devoted to science fiction, Amazing Stories.

Related Tags