How to watch all 22 MCU movies in chronological order

Marvel recently revealed the official viewing order for its cinematic universe.

Originally Published: 

Marvel fans can watch the entire MCU series with a Disney+ subscription (minus the Sony-owned Spider-Man movies) — but their twisty timeline has gotten complex over the past 10 years.

Here’s how to follow the action in every MCU movie on Disney Plus in chronological order.

1. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

As its name implies, Captain America: The First Avenger is the first step in the MCU. It takes place during World War I, decades before the next movie.

2. Captain Marvel (2019)

Though it was released not long ago, Captain Marvel transports viewers — and familiar Marvel characters — back to the ‘90s.

3. Iron Man (2008)

The movie that kicked off the MCU, Iron Man begins the “modern-day” timeline that the rest of the series continues.

4. Iron Man 2 (2010)

Iron Man 2 picks up shortly after the events of the first movie, making the two RDJ flicks an easy double feature.

5. Thor (2011)

Thor’s introduction takes place at roughly the same time as the events of Iron Man 2.

6. The Avengers (2012)

The Avengers is canonically set in 2012, a few years after Thor and Iron Man 2.

7. Thor: The Dark World (2013)

The Disney Plus timeline puts Thor: The Dark World just before Iron Man 3, though Marvel’s own timeline reverses the two.

8. Iron Man 3 (2013)

Iron Man 3 takes place at the tail end of 2012, not long after the events of The Avengers.

9. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier catches up with Steve Rogers two years after the climactic battle in The Avengers.

10. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

After a quick prologue set in 1988, Guardians of the Galaxy zips forward to 2014, though the movie keeps its distance from the events of the rest of the MCU.

11. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

The two Guardians of the Galaxy movies released so far take place within a few months of each other.

12. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Avengers: Age of Ultron reunites the group three years after the first team-up movie, in 2015.

13. Ant-Man (2015)

Ant-Man also takes place in 2015, setting the hero up for his appearance in Captain America: Civil War the next year.

14. Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Aside from a brief flashback late in the movie, Captain America: Civil War is set in 2016, as evidenced by a shot of a newspaper byline.

15. Black Panther (2018)

A news report in Black Panther places it just after the events of Captain America: Civil War, which left T’Challa in charge of Wakanda.

16. Dr. Strange (2016)

Dr. Strange takes place over 2016 and early 2017, though no exact dates are given.

17. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Taking place far from Earth, Thor: Ragnarok isn’t tied as closely as other movies to the MCU timeline, but it takes place between Civil War and Infinity War.

18. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)

Ant-Man is still under house arrest over his actions during Civil War at the beginning of Ant-Man and the Wasp, putting this movie just before Infinity War.

19. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

As referenced in the movie, Avengers: Infinity War takes place six years after The Avengers, placing it in 2018.

20. Avengers: Endgame (2019)

After an opening that directly follows Infinity War, Endgame jumps five years in the future to 2023.

21. WandaVision (2021)

WandaVision’s premise is tied to the events of Avengers: Endgame and the show picks up just a few weeks after the end of the movie.

22. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (2021)

The Falcon and the Winter Soldier begins six months months after Endgame, making it the latest entry yet in the MCU timeline.

Thanks for reading,
head home for more!